Home > Uncategorized > My Story

My Story

Where did I start in photography and where am I today?

I started back in 2008 with a Canon Rebel XS and the kit 18-55mm lens. Even though I bought the camera on Amazon, I still paid a premium price for it since it was just released. A few months later, I bought the highly acclaimed Canon 50mm f1.8 as per multiple recommendations. That lens is really a gem for the beginner photographer. I can’t really remember the next few transactions in their exact order but basically, I acquired a Tokina 12-24mm f4, sold my Rebel XS and bought a Rebel t1i, bought a Sigma 30mm f1.4, bought a Canon 70-200mm f4L and sold it 6 months later. My next purchase is probably going to be a Canon flash so I can start experimenting with artificial light.

As for my workflow, I’ve transitioned from using Bridge/Photosohp to Lightroom 3. Editing is much more streamlined for me and batch editing has never been easier. Since I’ve started, I also started a website as you might have guessed, http://www.chowphoto.com. Lately, I’ve been lazy in updating it with new images so I figured I would start a blog share some of my newer images. Also since I started, I have experimented with DSLR HD video using my t1i and 30mm 1.4. I find that with the lenes I have, it is the most versatile combination for getting great video quality.

Well that’s basically where I started and where I am today. I hope to keep growing as a photographer in the years to come. Cheers!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment