HDR

So I’ve experimented with HDR before but it’s never really turned out as well as this shot. I compiled this shot from 5 shots spaced at 1 stop exposure differences. If you’re just learning what HDR processing is, it stands for High Dynamic Range.

In photography, dynamic range refers to the highlights and shadows of a photograph. An HDR photograph contains detail in both the highlights and the shadows at the same time. With an intense lighting situation like a sunset and dark canyon, I decided to take 5 shots at varying exposures in rapid succession so I could merge them together in Photoshop. I had to act quick since sunsets are notorious for being too fast and thus changing the lighting of the shot. I used a tripod and a remote shutter. After each shot, I quickly adjusted my exposure and took the next shot. The rest of the magic is credited to Photoshop!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

